• National Historic Landmarks Program


National Historic Landmarks Program


National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are nationally significant historic places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. Today, just over 2,500 historic places bear this national distinction. Working with citizens throughout the nation, the National Historic Landmarks Program draws upon the expertise of National Park Service staff who guide the nomination process for new Landmarks and provide assistance to existing Landmarks.


Learn: NHL information and publications Find: Locate NHLs and NHL nominations Apply: Nominate a new Landmark News: Recent news and upcoming events Contact: Program offices, plus info for existing NHLs


Veterans Day

In honor of Veterans Day, we turn the spotlight to the USS Slater in Albany, New York, which was designated a National Historic Landmark in 2012. Visit our News page to learn more.

Program update:

All National Historic Landmark nominations are temporarily inaccessible as they are currently being transferred for scanning. Between September 1, 2014 and October 3, 2014, a blackout period will ensue in which we cannot access paper or digital records for these nominations. We apologize for the inconvenience.