Stone Arch Bridge
Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board
Built by railroad baron James J. Hill in 1883, the bridge allowed for increased movement of people and goods across the river. It served as a working railroad bridge until 1978, but is still seen as a symbol of the railroad age.
Rehabilitation of this National Historic Engineering Landmark began in 1980. Traffic on the bridge is now characterized by a much slower pace. Mostly used by walkers and bicyclists, the bridge is one of the best ways to enjoy the view of St. Anthony Falls.
The Stone Arch Bridge is a key link in the St. Anthony Falls Heritage Trail, which has pedestrian walkways and bicycle lanes. The Heritage Trail is a two-mile trail with an extensive system of interpretive and directional signs and kiosks.
Activities: Visitors can enjoy the trail on their own year-round. Seasonal guided walking tours of St. Anthony Falls and the Stone Arch Bridge are also offered.
Hours: 6 a.m. to 10 p.m., unless otherwise posted.
Contact Information: Call the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board at (612) 230-6400.
Did You Know?
Certain freshwater mussels can live to more than 100 years in the right conditions. This lifespan is one of the longest for any creature on earth.