• Image of Cane River Banner

    Cane River

    National Heritage Area Louisiana

Outdoor Activities

Fountain on Cane River Lake in downtown area of Natchitoches, photo by John Lees
Cane River region offers locals and visitors the opportunity for water sports. Fishing, boating, water skiing, and boat rides down scenic waterways allow for the viewing of the area from a unique perspective.

Natchitoches waterways for fishing, swimming, boating, or camping include:

Cane River Lake
Sibley Lake
Red River
Black Lake

For information contact:

    Cane River Waterway
    phone: 318/ 379-2878
or

    Louisiana Wildlife & Fisheries
    phone: 888/ 765-2602

Collegiate sculling (rowing) teams use Cane River Lake in the spring for training and competition. These teams are housed at Northwestern State University. For information contact NSU: Athletic Department 318/357-5251
Photo by John Lees
 
YCC workers clear underbrush at Oakland Plantation Site, Photo by NPS
Kisatchie Ranger District offers visitors numerous activities including nine scenic overlooks, 12 miles of wilderness hiking trails, canoeing over 20 miles down Kistachie Bayou, 50 miles of multiple-use trails and a 17-mile national scenic byway and panoramic vistas. Visit for information: www.fs.fed.us/r8/kisatchie
phone: 318/472-1840
Photo by NPS
 
Cotton Field, Photo by John Lees
The Caroline Dormon Nature Preserve is located at the Northwest corner of Natchitoches Parish in the Kisatchie National Forest. This area is the home of Caroline Dormon, the first woman employed in forestry in the United States and leader in the designation of Kisatchie as a National Forest
Photo by John Lees
 
Tractor event, photo by NPS
Special events are held at Cane River Creole National Historical Park -Oakland Plantation Site.

For outdoor events visit Cane River Creole National Historical Park web site:

http://nps.gov
Photo by NPS

Did You Know?

Magnolia Plantation Home, Photo by John Lees

Magnolia Plantation Home, a National Historic Landmark, is the area's largest. The original house was constructed in the 1830's, burned by the Union Army and rebuilt in the 1890's.