Fishing regulations conform to the license requirements of the respective state where the canal and Potomac River are located. The District of Columbia requires a license for persons 16-65. In Maryland, a person 16 years of age or older must have a valid license to fish that state's non-tidal waters. Virginia requires a license for persons 16 and older. West Virginia requires a license for ages 15-65. For detailed information on state regulations, contact the following:
District of Columbia Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs
Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
West Virginia Department of Natural Resources
Did You Know?
Most freight boats on the C&O Canal were approximately 95 feet long and 14.5 feet wide while most locks were 100 feet long and 15 feet wide. This left boat captains little margin for error as they steered their boats into the locks, trying to avoid the $5.00 fine for damaging lock masonry.