Educator's Guide: Social Studies: Name That State - Map

U.S. Map
This map contains the states which existed on July 4, 1863, when Vicksburg surrendered.  Eleven states were referred to as the Confederacy.  Twenty four states were called the Union.  However, five of these states were referred to as Border States.  They hoped to remain neutral during the struggle.

Last updated: April 14, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

3201 Clay Street
Vicksburg, MS 39183


(601) 636-0583

Contact Us