A black and white photograph of the iron works. The Saugus River is in the middle with the blast furnace, forge, and slitting mill on t he far side. Many people are crossing a bridge over the river and exploring the site.
The grand opening of the Saugus Iron Works Restoration in 1954.
The land that makes up Saugus Iron Works National Historic Site has been used by many different people over time. Archaeological evidence shows that Native American groups used the land here for thousands of years. The Native Americans who were in the area at the time of contact with Europeans are known as the Pawtucket.

European exploration and settlement brought about vast change, and introduced new groups of people who made use of the area. In the 1640s, a group of Englishmen and Massachusetts residents built the Saugus Iron Works to make iron for the new colony and to make money for themselves. Their iron works forced interactions between diverse groups of people including Puritans, English iron workers, Scottish indentured servants, and Pawtucket Native Americans. They did not always get along, often disagreeing on matters of religion, laws, and cultural values.

In more modern times, people concerned with the preservation of history have left their own mark at Saugus Iron Works. Archaeologists have excavated the site to help us protect artifacts and learn more about the past. Preservationists were originally drawn to the Iron Works House, but eventually ended up protecting the entire site.

Explore the links below to learn more about these different groups of people, and how they lived and worked in this area.

Iron Workers

Last updated: February 26, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

244 Central St
Saugus, MA 01906


(781) 233-0050

Contact Us