Towns of Estes Park and Grand Lake Receive Park Stewardship Award

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: November 15, 2006
Contact: Kyle Patterson, 970-586-1363

Rocky Mountain National Park Superintendent Vaughn Baker has announced that both the Town of Grand Lake and the Town of Estes Park are the recipients of the 2006 Rocky Mountain National Park Stewardship Award. The National Park Service proudly presents the Stewardship Award to outstanding individuals and organizations that contribute significantly to the stewardship of the park and the surrounding environment. Both Towns were selected for this award in recognition of their support in advancing the long-term protection of Rocky Mountain National Park.


Superintendent Baker noted, “We are fortunate at Rocky Mountain National Park to have many great supporters. The park’s gateway communities of Estes Park and Grand Lake are wonderful neighbors. Both Towns are committed and dedicated to protect parks resources and values while providing for visitor enjoyment. Through our partnerships we have worked collaboratively with both Towns on many projects. These partnerships have produced countless benefits for the park and our mutual visitors. The benefits of our partnership extend into the future as well, as the park especially recognizes both Towns’ commitment to furthering wilderness designation for the park.”


Past recipients of the park’s stewardship award include:

  • Bureau of Land Management – Kremmling Field Office, for coordinating a complicated land exchange that enabled the park to preserve and protect a particular tract of land in its undisturbed state for wildlife habitat.

  • The National Trust for Historic Preservation, for the protection of The McGraw Ranch Historic District and other historic resources in Rocky Mountain National Park.

  • The Rocky Mountain Nature Assocation, for preserving natural and cultural resources and contributing greatly to the education of millions of people who visit the park and for its lasting and outstanding contributions to the mission of the park.

  • The Estes Valley Land Trust, for preserving open space in the Estes Valley and for adding to the park through protecting adjacent lands.
  • The Estes Park Chapter, League of Women Voters, for its critical role in achieving a ban on commercial tour overflights above Rocky Mountain National Park. 

  • James Disney, former Larimer County Commissioner, for his advocacy of protecting and preserving Colorado’s public lands, particularly Rocky Mountain National Park. 

  • John Fielder, in recognition of his two-year long project of photographically recording all of Rocky Mountain National Park’s lakes, and for his many years of advocacy for America’s wild places.
  • The Shining Mountain Group of the Colorado Mountain Club for its years of volunteer work including removing trash from the park, trimming back vegetation along park roads and trails, assisting with a parkwide visitor use survey and removing barbed wire fencing that posed danger to park wildlife and visitors.

  • Two co-recipients—(1) Pieter Hondius, Estes Park businessman and developer, for his efforts in establishing the Estes Valley Land Trust, an organization that encourages land donations by private citizens to help preserve open spaces in the area; and (2) Lurline Curran, Kremmling resident and Grand County (CO) planner, for her work in promoting development on private lands adjacent to the park that is compatible with the national park’s scenic grandeur.

  • Stephen W. Gillette, Estes Park businessman and recycling proponent, for his efforts as the principle mover behind the Larimer County project SOAR (Save Our Area Resources).

  • Jean Weaver, Estes Park resident, for her work over the years in establishing a viablerecycling program in the Estes Park area.

Last updated: February 24, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

1000 US Hwy 36
Estes Park, CO 80517


(970) 586-1206
Through winter, the Information Office is open 8:00 am–4:30 pm Mon–Fri. Recorded Trail Ridge Road status: (970) 586-1222.

Contact Us