National Recognition

National Natural Landmark

The Great Falls of Paterson became a National Natural Landmark in 1967.

The National Natural Landmarks Program encourages and supports the conservation of sites that illustrate the nation's geological and biological history, and to strengthen the public's appreciation of America's natural heritage.

Learn more about the National Natural Landmarks Program

National Historic Landmark

A part of Paterson was designated as a National Historic Landmark District in 1976.

National Historic Landmarks are nationally significant places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States.

Learn more about National Historic Landmarks

Historic Civil Engineering Landmark

The Great Falls raceway and power systems became a Historic Civil Engineering Landmark in 1977.

The Historic Civil Engineering Landmark Program recognizes historically significant local, national, and international civil engineering projects, structures and sites.

Learn more about Historic Civil Engineering Landmarks

Paterson Great Falls National Historical Park

We are one of the newest units within the National Park Service.

On March 30, 2009, President Barack Obama signed the Paterson Great Falls National Historical Park Act as part of the Omnibus Public Lands Management Act.

Read H.R. 146, the "Omnibus Public Land Management Act of 2009"

On November 7, 2011, Paterson Great Falls National Historical Park was established as the 397th unit of the National Park System.

You can learn more about all the sites cared for by the National Park Service.

Last updated: September 22, 2015

Park footer

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

72 McBride Avenue Extension
Paterson, NJ 07501



Contact Us