Contact Us

National Heritage Areas Program Office

Interested in learning more about the National Heritage Areas program or becoming a National Heritage Area? Please contact the program office in Washington D.C. or a coordinator in your region.

Washington D.C. Office

Susan Teel
Acting National Program Manager

Elizabeth Vehmeyer
Assistant National Coordinator
1849 C Street, NW
Washington, DC 20240
Mail Stop 7508
Phone: 202-3540-2215

Region 1 - North Atlantic-Appalachian

(CT, DE, MA, MD, ME, NH, NJ, NY, PA, RI, VA, VT, WV)

Erik Kreusch
National Heritage Areas, Regional Coordinator
Northeast Regional Office

Region 2 and 4 - South Atlantic Gulf and Mississippi Basin

(AL, FL, GA, KY, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN, US Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico)

Elisa Kunz
National Heritage Areas, Regional Coordinator
Southeast Regional Office
100 Alabama St. SW
1924 Building, 5th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone: 404-507-5821

Regions 3, 4, and 5

(AR, IA, ID, IL, IN, MI, MN, MO, ND, NE, OH, SD, WI)

Chris Stein
Chief, National Heritage Areas and Large Landscape Initiatives
Midwest Region
Omaha, NE 68102
Phone: 715-557-0125

Regions 6, 7, 8 and 10

(AZ, CA, CO, MT, NM, NV, OK, TX, UT, WY)

Alexandra "Alex" Hernandez

National Heritage Areas, Regional Coordinator
Intermountain Region
P.O. Box 25287
Denver, CO 80225-0287
Phone: 303-969-2846

Region 9 and 11

(AK, OR, WA)

Patrick Lewis
Cultural Resource Program Manager
Kenai Fjords National Park
P.O. Box 1727
Seward, AK 99664
Phone: 907-422-0546

Last updated: January 26, 2023