News Release

National Park Service Announces New American World War II Heritage Cities

The National D-Day Memorial is seen from an elevated view, with blue sky, mountains, and trees surrounding it.
The National D-Day Memorial, located in Bedford County, Virginia, preserves the legacy of D-Day. Bedford County is one of 11 communities newly designated as American World War II Heritage Cities.

Courtesy of the National D-Day Memorial Foundation

News Release Date: December 28, 2023


WASHINGTON – The National Park Service announced today the designation of 11 communities across the United States as American World War II Heritage Cities. 
The American World War II Heritage Cities Program honors the contributions of local towns, cities, counties and their citizens who stepped into the workforce to support America's war effort during World War II. Only one American World War II Heritage City can be designated in each state or territory.  

The 11 newly designated communities are: 
  • Foley, Alabama 
  • Tempe, Arizona 
  • Richmond, California 
  • Wilmington, Delaware 
  • Waterloo, Iowa 
  • Baltimore County, Maryland 
  • Johnson County and Warrensburg, Missouri (joint community nomination) 
  • Hastings, Nebraska 
  • Boulder City and Henderson, Nevada (joint community nomination)  
  • Yonkers, New York 
  • Bedford County, Virginia 
World War II permeated every aspect of American life and resulted in a large migration of people within the United States. Individuals and families relocated to industrial centers for good-paying war jobs and out of a sense of patriotic duty. Many industrial centers became “boom towns," growing at phenomenal rates. Workers from around the nation had to intermingle with each other and overcome differences to meet war demands, forever changing the cultural landscape of the United States.  

Contributions by a city to the World War II home front war effort include defense manufacturing, such as ships, aircraft, uniforms, and equipment; production of food and consumer items for Armed Forces and home consumption; volunteer participation; and civil defense preparedness.  

The World War II Heritage Cities program was established by the John D. Dingell, Jr. Conservation, Management, and Recreation Act of 2019 to recognize the historic importance of the United States’ domestic involvement in World War II and ensure the continued preservation of a defining period in American history. This year’s additions follow the inaugural designation of Wilmington, North Carolina in September 2020. 

About the National Park Service: More than 20,000 National Park Service employees care for America's 425+ national parks and work with communities across the nation to help preserve local history and create close-to-home recreational opportunities. Learn more at, and on FacebookInstagramTwitter, and YouTube.  

Last updated: January 4, 2024