Contact Us

The National Park Service (NPS), a bureau with the Department of the Interior (DOI), has an Office of Native American Affairs (ONAA) based in Washington, DC, led by the NPS Native American Affairs Liaison, Assistant to the NPS Director. Email us for more information and questions about the ONAA.

There are also contacts in the NPS’s regional offices throughout the country. See the map below to find which NPS regional office to contact.

Map of the National Park Service's Unified Regions; detailed alt text is on the webpage next to the image

NPS Image

National and Regional Contacts

Region Contact / Email Position Title
NPS National Headquarters
Dorothy FireCloud
National Park Service Office of Native American Affairs
1849 C Street NW
Washington, DC 20006
NPS Native American Affairs Liaison, Assistant to the Director
Region 1 National Capital Area
(includes District of Columbia and neighboring areas in Maryland and Virginia)
Noel Lopez Cultural Anthropologist
Region 1: North Atlantic - Appalachian
(includes Connecticut, Delaware, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia)
Eric Chiasson Regional Tribal Liaison
Region 2: South Atlantic
(includes Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, and Tennessee)
Amanda Griffis Cultural Anthropologist
Region 3, 4, and 5: Great Lakes, Mississippi Basin, and Missouri Basin
(includes Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin)
Kathy Boden Tribal Relations Program Coordinator
Region 6, 7, and 8: Arkansas - Rio Grande - Texas - Gulf, Upper Colorado Basin, and Lower Colorado Basin
(includes Arizona, southern California, Colorado, southern Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming)
Melissa Castiano Regional Tribal Liaison
Regions 9, 10, and 12: Columbia - Northwest and Great Basin
(includes northern California, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington)
Jason Lyon Cultural Anthropologist
Region 11: Alaska
(includes Alaska)
Maija Lukin Native Relations Program Manager
Region 12: Pacific Islands
(includes American Samoa, Guam, and Hawaii)
Melia Lane-Kamahele Manager

Last updated: October 19, 2023