The place names of the Obed Wild and Scenic River give only sparse clues as to the origins of those places and the meanings of their names. Much of the history of the area was not written down, leaving only conjecture and scholarship to try to decipher the clues that are left behind. The most valuable research that we have today in discovering the past is the site itself. By exploring the areas that surround the river, we can better understand the names that are attributed to it, and the people who once walked where we walk today. In this page we will attempt to explore some of those areas and draw some conclusions into the facts (and myths) of their past.
The old bridge at Nemo (pictured above) is but one of those places that have added to the story of the Obed Wild and Scenic River. Built in 1930-31, the bridge is now used by hikers who want to get an above-ground view of the river. During the past century, however, it represented the first iron structure to cross the river. Located just above the Obed-Emory confluence, the old bridge is now closed to motor traffic. A new cement bridge replaced it in 1999, but the old bridge had too much sentimental value to tear down. Local park neighbors still enjoy a leisurely stroll across the bridge.