Located on Fifth Street, Calumet Visitor Center provides a variety of opportunities to connect to Calumet's mining history, and is a portal for visiting the area’s other historical and recreational attractions. The visitor center occupies the historic Union Building, which has been a prominent feature of the Calumet street-scape since 1889. The National Park Service worked to preserve the building's unique architectural elements, and interpret its connections to the regions copper mining history.
Inside, the visitor center offers two floors of exhibits exploring the social history of Calumet and its relationship to the Calumet and Hecla Mining Company. The stories of the people that made the Copper Country home are told in their own words through a variety of interactive and multimedia experiences including films, slideshows, and sound-scapes that evoke the once bustling streets of this multi-ethnic community in the early 20th century.
Architectural details featured throughout the facility offer a glimpse into the building's history as well. The Calumet Visitor Center also provides information about how to explore the entire Keweenaw Peninsula: brochures, maps, and interactive trip planning are available to help plan visits to the 19 Keweenaw Heritage Sites, as well as other historical sites and destinations.
In addition, the Isle Royal and Keweenaw Parks Association operates a sales area with souvenirs, games, books, and other items to help visitors learn more about the area. Information about interpretive programs, presentations, community and park sponsored events is also available.
Admission to the Visitor Center is free, and the facility is fully accessible to all visitors throughout the year, including school and tour groups. Hours of operation change seasonally, so please check the park website for the most current information. We look forward to your visit.
Visit our keyboard shortcuts docs for details
What began as a Lodge Hall for the Masons and the Odd Fellows over a century ago, now has new life as the Calumet Visitor Center. Visitors can explore three floors, all fully accessible.
Last updated: June 26, 2022