Nobel Peace Prize Presidents

President Carter speaking to visitors and friends the day he was awarded to Nobel Peace.
President Carter speaking with visitors and friends after being awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

National Park Service

The three Presidents who have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize all have family ties to the state of Georgia.

Theodore Roosevelt was awarded the 1906 Nobel Peace Prize for mediating the Russo-Japanese War, reached a Gentleman's Agreement on immigration with Japan, and sent the Great White Fleet on a goodwill tour of the world. His mother, Mittie Bulloch , was born in Hartford, Connecticut but was raised in Savannah, Georgia and then moved to Roswell, Georgia when she was five.

Woodrow Wilson was awarded the 1919 Nobel Peace Prize for his work to bring peace to all nations but died without seeing the Leagues of Nations happen. Wilson was born in Staunton, Virginia but spent the formative years of his childhood in Augusta, years that would affect him for the rest of his life. While living in Augusta Wilson experienced the hardships of the Civil War and Reconstruction.

Jimmy Carter was awarded the 2002 Nobel Peace Prize for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development.

Last updated: October 17, 2023

Park footer

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

300 North Bond Street
Plains, GA 31780


(229) 824 - 4104
The visitor information desk is staffed from 9 am until 5 pm daily, except for New Year's Day (January 1), Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day (December 25).

Contact Us