In November 2003, the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum, in partnership with the National Park Service and the private non-profit Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute (FERI), opened the Henry A. Wallace Visitor and Education Center-the first new facility to be added to the Roosevelt estate since the Library was constructed in 1941. Named in honor of the man who served as Secretary of Agriculture (1933-1940) and Vice-President during Franklin Roosevelt's third term, the Wallace Center offers visitors an array of new and expanded services designed to enhance their experience in Hyde Park.
Mrs. Nesbitt's Cafe at the Wallace Center offers visitors a charming and convenient place to eat. It is named after Mrs. Henrietta Nesbitt, the Roosevelt's Hyde Park neighbor and cook at the White House during the twelve years of FDR’s administration.
Last updated: March 31, 2012