Stewardship at the Summit!

Invasive Himalayan Ginger Removal
Invasive Himalayan Ginger Removal

NPS Photo / Jessica Ferracane

 

Volunteers Paul and Jane Field lead "Stewardship at the Summit" and you are invited to participate!

Come help out the park and the 'aina (land) by cutting invasive himalayan ginger (Heydechium gardnerianum) on park trails. Loppers and gloves are provided. Participants are encouraged to wear long sleeve shirts, long pants and close toed shoes. Work is often in the shade of the forest with sweet sounds of native honey creepers like 'apapane, 'amakihi and 'ōma'o above to serenade as you work. Water, snacks, rain gear and sun protection are recommended.

This project is open to the public and school groups. The hike is around a 1 mile, moderate round trip into Kīlauea caldera down the Halem'auma'u trail, leaving from Kīlauea Visitor Center. The hike involves walking over rough uneven terrain on a dirt and rock path, with up to a 400' elevation change.

General Public: No reservations required. Check at Kīlauea Visitor Center for more information or contact Andrea Kaawaloa-Okita 808-985-6013 or email Andrea. Note: For groups larger than 10, please clear with Andrea at least one week ahead of the event to ensure we are able to accommodate your group.

School Groups: A special version called Mālama Āina - Stewardship is available for school groups, grades 5 - college, by submitting a Program Request Form.

Please visit the Educational Programs for School Groups page for more information.

Time:
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon

 

Scheduled Dates

Saturday May 6, 2017
Friday May 12, 2017
Saturday May 20, 2017
Friday May 26, 2017
Saturday June 3, 2017
Friday June 9, 2017
Saturday June 17, 2017
Friday June 23, 2017
Saturday July 1, 2017
Friday July 7, 2017
Saturday July 15, 2017
Friday July 21, 2017
Saturday July 29, 2017
Friday August 4, 2017
Friday August 11, 2017
Saturday August 19, 2017
Friday August 25, 2017

Last updated: May 1, 2017

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 52
Hawaii National Park, HI 96718

Phone:

(808) 985-6000

Contact Us