Stewardship at the Summit!

Invasive Himalayan Ginger Removal
Invasive Himalayan Ginger Removal

NPS Photo / Jessica Ferracane


Volunteers Paul and Jane Field lead "Stewardship at the Summit" and you are invited to participate!

Come help out the park and the 'aina (land) by cutting invasive himalayan ginger (Heydechium gardnerianum) on park trails. Loppers and gloves are provided. Participants are encouraged to wear long sleeve shirts, long pants and close toed shoes. Work is often in the shade of the forest with sweet sounds of native honey creepers like 'apapane, 'amakihi and 'ōma'o above to serenade as you work. Water, snacks, rain gear and sun protection are recommended.

This project is open to the public and school groups. The hike is around a 1 mile, moderate round trip into Kīlauea caldera down the Halem'auma'u trail, leaving from Kīlauea Visitor Center. The hike involves walking over rough uneven terrain on a dirt and rock path, with up to a 400' elevation change.

General Public: No reservations required. Check at Kīlauea Visitor Center for more information or contact Andrea Kaawaloa-Okita 808-985-6013 or email Andrea. Note: For groups larger than 10, please clear with Andrea at least one week ahead of the event to ensure we are able to accommodate your group.

School Groups: A special version called Mālama Āina - Stewardship is available for school groups, grades 5 - college, by submitting a Program Request Form.

Please visit the Educational Programs for School Groups page for more information.

9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon


Scheduled Dates

Friday September 30, 2016
Saturday October 8, 2016
Wednesday October 12, 2016
Saturday October 22, 2016
Friday October 28, 2016
Friday November 4, 2016
Friday November 11, 2016
Friday November 18, 2016
Saturday November 26, 2016
Wednesday November 30, 2016
Saturday December 10, 2016
Wednesday December 14, 2016
Friday December 23, 2016
Friday December 30, 2016

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 52
Hawaii National Park, HI 96718


(808) 985-6000
Visitor Information

Contact Us