Stewardship at the Summit!

Invasive Himalayan Ginger Removal
Invasive Himalayan Ginger Removal

NPS Photo / Jessica Ferracane

 

Volunteers Paul and Jane Field lead "Stewardship at the Summit" and you are invited to participate!

Come help out the park and the 'aina (land) by cutting invasive himalayan ginger (Heydechium gardnerianum) on park trails. Loppers and gloves are provided. Participants are encouraged to wear long sleeve shirts, long pants and close toed shoes. Work is often in the shade of the forest with sweet sounds of native honey creepers like 'apapane, 'amakihi and 'ōma'o above to serenade as you work. Water, snacks, rain gear and sun protection are recommended.

This project is open to the public and school groups. The hike is around a 1 mile, moderate round trip into Kīlauea caldera down the Halem'auma'u trail, leaving from Kīlauea Visitor Center. The hike involves walking over rough uneven terrain on a dirt and rock path, with up to a 400' elevation change.

For more information:

  • If in the park, check at Kīlauea Visitor Center
  • Non-groups may email Paul and Jane at field@hawaii.edu
  • Groups should contact Kūpono McDaniel at 808-985-6015 or email

Time:
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon

 

Scheduled Dates

Saturday December 23, 2017
Saturday December 30, 2017
Saturday January 6, 2018
Saturday January 13, 2018
Friday January 19, 2018
Friday January 26, 2018
Saturday February 3, 2018
Friday February 9, 2018
Saturday February 17, 2018
Monday (President's Day) February 19, 2018
Saturday March 3, 2018
Friday March 9, 2018
Friday March 16, 2018
Friday March 23, 2018
Saturday March 31, 2018

Last updated: December 21, 2017

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 52
Hawaii National Park, HI 96718

Phone:

(808) 985-6000

Contact Us