Notice of Aerial Operations Oct-Nov 2014

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: October 7, 2014
Contact: Jessica Ferracane, 808-985-6018

Hawaii National Park, Hawai‘i – Hawai‘i Volcanoes National Park announces the following upcoming flight plans for October and November:

• Wed., Oct. 8 and Thurs., Oct. 9, between 6 a.m. and 11 a.m., ungulate surveys in Kahuku between 3,000-ft. and 7,000-ft. elevation

• Thurs., Oct.16, between 8 a.m. and noon, from the summit of Kīlauea to Mauna Loa at about 9,000-ft. elevation for petrel monitoring

• Thurs., Oct. 16 and Fri., Oct. 17, fountain grass monitoring and control from Ka‘aha, to the Great Crack along the Southwest Rift Zone of Kīlauea 

• Mon., Nov. 3 and Wed., Nov. 5, transport camp supplies from Hilina Pali Rd. to Kamo‘oali‘i. for fountain grass monitoring and control 

• Tues., Nov. 4, between 6 a.m. and 8 a.m., ungulate surveys and control work in Kahuku between 3,000-ft and 7,000-ft. elevation 

• Mon., Nov. 10, between 8 a.m. and 10 a.m., mullein surveys on Mauna Loa

• Mon. Nov. 24 and Tues., Nov. 25, between 8 a.m. and noon, from the summit of Kīlauea to Mauna Loa at about 9,000-ft. elevation for petrel monitoring 

The park regrets any noise impact to residents and park visitors. Dates and times are subject to change based on aircraft availability and weather. 

Management of the park requires the use of aircraft to monitor and research volcanic activity, conduct search-and-rescue missions and law enforcement operations, support management of natural and cultural resources, and to maintain backcountry facilities. 

-NPS-



Last updated: February 28, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 52
Hawaii National Park, HI 96718

Phone:

(808) 985-6000

Contact Us