Mussel Decontamination

many boats of various sizes on a launch ramp and in the water
Transporting infested water or quagga mussels (alive or dead) is illegal. Boats and equipment must be decontaminated after use on quagga infested waters.  Decontamination can occur through extended drying (up to 30 days) after cleaning or with professional treatments (used when drying time does not exist).

NPS Photo

 

Decontamination – What Day Users Need To Know


It is crucial to keep the mussels from moving from Lake Powell to other lakes and rivers. Utah and Arizona state laws require you to clean, drain, and dry your boat when leaving Lake Powell using self-decontamination procedures. Additional steps are required if you launch on other waters without a significant drying period or if you are on Lake Powell for more than 5 days. Regulations vary depending on the state, so all boaters should review the regulations of any state they will enter with their watercraft after being at Lake Powell, including Utah (Check here as well), Arizona, and Colorado.
 
Beach full of vehicles, boats, and people
No mater where you recreate on Lake Powell, you must decontaminate your boat when you leave.

NPS Photo

If you intend to boat somewhere else before drying time can be completed, you will need a professional decontamination. Contact staff on the launch ramp for more information. Private businesses offer decontamination services in Page, AZ and near Bullfrog, Utah.
The following businesses have been certified through Watercraft Inspection and Decontamination Training set forth by the Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission and US Fish and Wildlife Service through the 100th Meridian Initiative. They can provide vessel decontamination services for a fee. These are independent business and are not associated with the National Park Service.
Downlake Mussel Busters
811 Vista Ave, Page AZ 86040
928-660-0942
Uplake Offshore Marina
Hwy 276 Mile Marker 30, Lake Powell, UT 84533
844-662-2628 ext 506

Many additional requirements exist in state laws for extended stay boats (5 days or more); Contact staff on the launch ramp or contact states for more information. Regulations vary depending on the state, so all boaters should review the regulations of any state they will enter with their watercraft after being at Lake Powell, including Utah (Check here as well), Arizona, and Colorado.

Last updated: March 22, 2018

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

PO Box 1507
Page, AZ 86040

Phone:

(928) 608-6200
Receptionist available at Glen Canyon Headquarters from 7 am to 4 pm MST, Monday through Friday. The phone is not monitored when the building is closed.

Contact Us