Encampment Highlights British Occupation of Fort Stanwix

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: May 20, 2014
Contact: William Sawyer, 315-338-7730
Contact: Kelly Roman, 315-338-7730

The British flag will once again be flying over Fort Stanwix this Memorial Day weekend. Why? The
staff and volunteers at Fort Stanwix National Monument, along with several living history groups will
host the annual French and Indian War event on Saturday, May 24 and Sunday, May 25 from 9 am to
5 pm each day. 
 
Visitors to the fort will be greeted by General Amherst as he makes a stop on a busy military
campaign, chat with ladies as they carry out their essential daily chores, watch troops prepare to
defend the fort against a potential French attack as they drill with muskets- and they will even fire off
a cannon or two throughout the day. You may also meet some of the French troops who raided the
Mohawk Valley at various times throughout the war, and discover their reasons for entering the war.
 
Built by the British in 1758, Fort Stanwix protected the area from French invasion, and supported
British attacks into French controlled Canada during the French and Indian War. This conflict pitted
England and the 13 colonies against the French to decide who would be the controlling power in
North America; the repercussions of which eventually led to the American Revolution.
 
Fort Stanwix National Monument is open seven days a week from 9am to 5 pm. Admission to
the park is free. For more information about upcoming events please call the park at (315)
338-7730. Please visit the park’s web page at www.nps.gov/fost for additional information
about the park and up-to-date news about park events. 
                                                                          
                                                                    -NPS-



Last updated: October 30, 2017

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

112 East Park St.
Rome, NY 13440

Phone:

315-338-7730

Contact Us