Frisco Train Station


The Frisco Station

“The new station at Fort Smith, Ark., is the most imposing of any of the new structures. It replaces an old wooden station and it is situated a block further west at the corner of Garrison Avenue.” The Railroad Gazette, August 5, 1904.

When the contractor Anderson & Company of St. Louis completed the building in 1904, it was an imposing structure for a town with a population of only 23,500.

The building is constructed of limestone blocks cut smoothly to resemble grey marble. The blocks were quarried in Carthage, MO, and transported to Fort Smith. Built in the Greek style, tall iconic columns originally supported the portico on the north side of the building but were removed in the mid 20th century to make room for bridge expansion.

The main Waiting Room was a spacious 26 feet by 36 feet 3 inches. The interior of the building was finished with hard pine and cypress rubbed with oil.

Frisco train station layout as seen in the August 4, 1904 edition of the Railroad Gazette.

Back to Park Grounds Highlights

Two story white limestone structure. An awning with a terra cotta tile roof is around the left half of and side of the building.
The Frisco station was built in 1903 and served as a hub of transportation in the early 1900s.

NPS/Pat Schmidt


Last updated: May 12, 2020

Park footer

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

301 Parker Ave
Fort Smith, AR 72901


479 783-3961

Contact Us

Stay Connected