Traffic & Travel Tips

The Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor includes the 524 miles of navigable canal that comprise the New York State Canal System, including the Erie, Cayuga-Seneca, Oswego, and Champlain Canals, plus the historic alignments of these canals and the 234 cities, towns, and villages that lie immediately adjacent to the navigable waterway and the historic alignments.

The Erie Canalway Corridor encompasses 4,834 square miles in 23 counties. The population of the corridor is 2.7 million people and includes the largest population centers in Upstate New York, including Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse, and the state capital, Albany.

Travel to the Corridor will vary, depending on where you choose to begin your visit. Please view the Maps Page for assistance.

Last updated: March 31, 2012

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 219
Waterford, NY 12188


(518) 237-7000 x207

Contact Us