Publications

Log fort with American flag.
The Davis Blockhouse located in Sunnyside Cemetery.

Photo by Lynn Hyde

Ebey's Landing National Historical Reserve is unique to the National Park System, celebrating the rich history and the working rural landscape of central Whidbey Island.

From the enabling legislation that created Ebey's Landing NHR in 1978:

"There is hereby established the Ebey's Landing National Historical Reserve (hereinafter referred to as the "reserve"), in order to preserve and protect a rural community which provides an unbroken historical record from nineteenth century exploration and settlement in Puget Sound to the present time, and to commemorate –

1. ...the first thorough exploration of the Puget Sound area, by Captain George Vancouver, in 1792;

2. ...settlement by Colonel Isaac Neff Ebey who led the first permanent settlers to Whidbey island, quickly became an important figure in Washington Territory, and ultimately was killed by Haidahs from the Queen Charlotte Islands during a period of Indian unrest in 1857;

3. ...early active settlement during the years of the Donation Land Law (1850-1855) and thereafter;

4. ...and the growth since 1883 of the historic town of Coupeville."

Explore the Reserve and discover what makes this place special in the history of this country. Ebey's Forever!

 

Guides, Maps and Visitor Information

 
VG Msthead Button

Visitor Guide to Ebey's Landing National Historical Reserve - Visiting the Reserve? Be sure to check out the Visitor Guide for a look at what the Reserve is and what you can do while visiting! Guides are available at many locations throughout the Reserve, including the Island County Museum and the Coupeville Chamber of Commerce.

 
Self-Guided Walking Tour of Historic Coupeville
Self-Guided Walking Tour of Historic Coupeville- Discover one of the oldest towns and one of the most sustainable communities in Washington State!
 
A Driving and Bicycling Tour

A Driving and Bicycling Tour - This map and guide will help you explore Ebey's Landing by car or bicycle.

 
Naturalist's Guide

Spring & Summer Naturalists Guide - A spring and summer guide to Ebey's Landing.

 
Black-capped chicadee
Fall & Winter Naturalists Guide - A fall and winter guide to Ebey's Landing.
 

Discover the Stories that make the Reserve a part of the Great American Landscape

 
Log fort with fields and water behind.

The Jacob & Sarah Ebey House - Isaac Ebey wrote to his father, Jacob, that he'd found a "...Paradise of Nature" on Whidbey Island. So Jacob, his wife Sarah and other family members made the journey like so many across the Oregon Trail, and settled on Whidbey Island at a place Jacob named Sunnyside.

 
Old farmhouse in green field

The Ferry House - Perhaps no other building is as iconic and represents Ebey's Landing National Historical Reserve as well as the Ferry House. Built in the early 1860s by Winfield Scott Ebey, this public house first welcomed visitors to Whidbey Island at the front gate of Isaac Ebey's 1850 donation land claim.

 
Traces of the Chinese in the Reserve

Traces of the Chinese in the Reserve - Between the 1880s and the 1920s, Whidbey Island was home to a Chinese community centered on Ebey's Prairie farmlands. For many years, their stories were lost. But, as the experiences of these Asian immigrants are uncovered, they bring a light to a fascinating piece of the island's heritage.

Last updated: May 9, 2017

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

PO Box 774
Coupeville, WA 98239

Phone:

(360) 678-6084

Contact Us

Tools