United States Virgin Islands and the 19th Amendment

US Virgin Islands map colored grey
The United States Virgin Islands in gray – indicating they were not one of the original 36 states to ratify the 19th Amendment. CC0

Women fought for the right to vote since the mid-1800s. They marched, protested, lobbied, and even went to jail. By the 1870s, women pressured Congress to vote on an amendment that would give them suffrage rights. This amendment became known as the 19th Amendment.

After decades of arguments for and against women's suffrage, Congress finally voted in favor of the 19th Amendment in 1919. This is called ratification. After Congress ratified the 19th Amendment, at least 36 states needed to vote in favor of it for it to become law. By August of 1920, 36 states ratified the 19th Amendment, giving women the right to vote.

US virgin islands flag
Flag of the United States Virgin Islands. CC0
The US Virgin Islands are composed of three main islands (Saint Croix, Saint John, and Saint Thomas) as well as several smaller islands. They are not a state, but a United States Territory. Therefore, they could not vote to ratify the 19th Amendment. People living in the US Virgin Islands are considered United States citizens, but are ineligible to vote for US President.

Last updated: August 2, 2018