Philippines and the 19th Amendment

Philippines shaded grey
The Philippines were a US territory during the ratification of the 19th Amendment. They were therefore unable to vote to ratify (or not). The Philippines became an independent, sovereign country in 1946. CC0

Women fought for the right to vote since the mid-1800s. They marched, protested, lobbied, and even went to jail. By the 1870s, women pressured Congress to vote on an amendment that would give them suffrage rights. This amendment became known as the 19th Amendment.

After decades of arguments for and against women's suffrage, Congress finally voted in favor of the 19th Amendment in 1919. This is called ratification. After Congress ratified the 19th Amendment, at least 36 states needed to vote in favor of it for it to become law.

In 1898, the Philippines became a territory of the United States. As a territory and not a state, the Philippines did not have a vote to ratify (or not) the Nineteeth Amendment. In 1935, the Philippines became a Commonwealth of the United States. In its Constitution, the Philippines granted women the right to vote.

Flag of the Philippines
Flag of the Philippine nation. CC0
The Philippines became a sovereign, independent country in 1946.

Last updated: August 3, 2018