Maine and the 19th Amendment

State of Maine overlaid with the purple, white, and gold suffrage flag
State of Maine overlain with the purple, white, and gold of the suffrage flag, indicating that it was one of the 36 original states to ratify the 19th Amendment. CC0

Women first organized and collectively fought for suffrage at the national level in July of 1848. Suffragists such as Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Lucretia Mott convened a meeting of over 300 people in Seneca Falls, New York. In the following decades, women marched, protested, lobbied, and even went to jail. By the 1870s, women pressured Congress to vote on an amendment that would recognize their suffrage rights. This amendment became known as the 19th Amendment.

After decades of arguments for and against women's suffrage, Congress finally voted in favor of the 19th Amendment in 1919. After Congress passed the 19th Amendment, at least 36 states needed to vote in favor of it for it to become law.

On November 5, 1919, Maine voted in favor of the Nineteenth Amendment. By August of 1920, 36 states (including Maine) ratified the amendment, giving women the right to vote.

Flag of the state of Maine
Flag of the state of Maine. CC0

Maine Places of Women’s Suffrage: Old South Church

Completed in 1888, the church hosted the 27th Annual Convention of Maine Woman Suffrage Association. By the early 1900s, Farmington had one of the most active suffragists groups in the state. Local suffragists like Hadassah Herrick and Isabel Greenwood also advocated for the rights of working women and children. The Old South Church is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Exterior of red-brick church with steeple & stained-glass window.Photo-by:AlexiusHoratius, CCBYSA3.0

Discover More Places of Ratification

The Old South Church is an important place in the story of ratification. It listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Sources used to make these state pages include: Ida Husted Harper's History of Woman Suffrage: 1900-1920, Volume 6 (1922), the National American Woman Suffrage Association papers (Library of Congress), and National Register nominations from the National Park Service.

Last updated: April 11, 2019