• Underground Delta-01 LCC, 44th Missile Wing/66th Strategic Missile Wing logos, topside view of Delta-09 LF

    Minuteman Missile

    National Historic Site South Dakota

There are park alerts in effect.
hide Alerts »
  • Traffic Alert

    I-90 Exit 131 (Visitor Contact Station) is open in both directions. Exit 127 (Launch Control Facility) is closed to eastbound traffic, but open to westbound traffic. Pick up all tour tickets at exit 131. Allow extra time to travel to Delta-01 for tours.

Oral Histories

The following Minuteman Missile Oral Histories include valuable interviews with former missile field personnel and local citizens who were part of the Minuteman's history for over three decades. To read short biographies of the interviewees click here.


David Blackhurst - Missileer & Facility Manager (1974 - early 80s)

Dennis Cabrera - Missileer (1974-78)

Kerry Davis - Missileer (80s- early 90s)

Andy Knight - Missileer (1968-72)

Craig Manson - Missileer (1976-78)

Wendy McNiel - Missileer (1991-92)

Support Personnel

David Burris - Facility Manager & Missile Operations (1977-83)

Ken Bush - Security Police (1979-90)

Michael Ewart - Missile Maintenance (1969-90)

Alonzo Hall - Site Security Maintenance (1975-early 90s)

Steven Hall - Missile Operations Officer (late 80s -early 90s)

Tim Pavek - Deactivation Program Manager (1984 - present)

Martin Pietz - Missile Maintenance (1978-94)

Leo Rowen - Missile Maintenance

John Wallace - Electronics

Robert Wilson - Codes Division & Missile Operations (1970s)

Federal Marshals

Gary Overby - Federal Marshal


William Bielmaier - Local Landowner & Rancher

Ted Hustead - Wall Drug Owner

Don Paulsen - Local Landowner & Phone Company Manager

Gene Williams - Local Landowner & Rancher

Peace Movement

John Laforge - Co-Director Nukewatch

Did You Know?

44th Missile Wing emblem

Minuteman Missiles are not just part of the past, but also the present and future. Currently there are still 450 Minuteman missiles deployed across the Northern Great Plains.