Cultural Resource Protection
- Please do not sit, stand, climb, or lean on fragile archeological structures.
- Since archeologists need to see everything in context to understand a site, do not disturb any artifact. Removing them is illegal. The Federal Antiquities Act of 1906 and the Archeological Resources Protection Act of 1979 prohibit the removal of any object of antiquity or the destruction of any architectural site on federal land. Please report any damaging behavior immediately to a park ranger at Mesa Verde or call 970-529-4461.
Natural Resource Protection
- Disturbing or collecting natural features (plants, rocks, etc.) is prohibited.
- Feeding, capturing, chasing, or teasing wildlife is prohibited and can be dangerous. Remember, these are wild animals.
As of February 22, 2010, a new federal law allows people who can legally possess firearms under applicable federal, state, and local laws, to legally possess firearms in this park.
It is the responsibility of visitors to understand and comply with all applicable state, local, and federal firearms laws before entering this park. As a starting point, please visit our state’s website.
Federal law also prohibits firearms in certain facilities in this park; those places are marked with signs at all public entrances.
Marijuana on Federal Lands
With the legalization of marijuana in the State of Colorado, Mesa Verde National Park would like to provide clarification regarding the use of possession of marijuana on Federal lands. The recently passed Colorado State law, which allows for limited recreational marijuana use under certain conditions, has no bearing on Federal laws which continue to identify marijuana as a Schedule I illegal drug, and prohibit its use.
Possession of marijuana or use of any amount of marijuana is still prohibited in Mesa Verde National Park, its facilities, concessions, and campgrounds. Violations are punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000.00 for an individual or $10,000.00 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both (16 U.S.C. 551, 18 U.S.C. 3559 and 3571).
If you have questions, please contact the Chief Ranger's Office at 970-529-4461.