The Declaration Committee

Franklin, Adams, Jefferson, Sherman, and Livingston


Thomas Jefferson was the primary author of the Declaration of Independence document, but did you know that there were four other Continental Congress members who assisted him? John Adams of Massachusetts, Roger Sherman of Connecticut, Robert Livingston of New York, and Benjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania all served with Jefferson on the Declaration Committee that was charged with putting colonial grievances into words. The resulting document charted the course for American Independence and helped to create the United States of America. These five men are immortalized in the sculptural bas relief found within the pediment of the Thomas Jefferson Memorial. For more about the topic of indepedence, click here.

Last updated: April 10, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

900 Ohio Drive SW
Washington , DC 20024


(202) 426-6841

Contact Us