Excellence in Volunteerism Awards

The Excellence in Volunteerism Awards are the highest award presented to National Park Service volunteers. The contributions of these award recipients embody the spirit of service, engagement, and stewardship present throughout our national parks. Learn more about National Park Service volunteers, including how you can become one.

This award was named the George and Helen Hartzog Awards for Outstanding Volunteer Service until 2023. The National Park Service is shifting to more descriptive award names that clearly reflect the work awarded. We will continue to recognize the individuals who inspired or influenced these awards.

George Hartzog

George B. Hartzog, Jr. served as the Director of the National Park Service and created the Volunteers-In-Parks (VIP) program in 1970. In retirement, he and his wife, Helen established a fund to support the program and honor the efforts of exceptional volunteers, groups, and park VIP programs.

"When a VIP agrees to share his talents, skills and interests with the National Park Service, he is paying us one of the highest compliments possible by offering a most valued possession—his time." -George B. Hartzog, Jr., National Park Service Director (1964–1972)

Excellence in Volunteerism Awards Map

The interactive Excellence in Volunteerism Award recipients map highlights current and previous national recipients of the Excellence in Volunteerism Awards. The map provides a geographic overview of recipient locations and information.

Meet the Award Recipients

Loading results...

    Last updated: April 11, 2024