National Natural Landmarks

Mount Shasta

Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta

One of the world's largest and most impressive stratovolcanoes, Mount Shasta contains five glaciers and consists of four distinct but overlapping cones. Located within the Shasta-Trinity National Forest, it is the second highest of the 15 main volcanoes in the Cascade range, only Mount Rainier is higher.

Location: Siskiyou County, CA ; Siskiyou County, CA

Year designated: 1976

Acres: 7,918

Ownership: Federal

← Back to NNL listing for CA.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNLs are owned by a variety of public and private entities and allowing visitation is at their discretion. Many NNL sites maintain public websites where additional information may be found.

Experience More


  • Site Index