National Natural Landmarks Directory

There are currently 604 designated National Natural Landmark sites within 48 states, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Louisiana and Delaware are the only two states that do not contain a NNL site. Of the existing landmark sites approximately one-half are administered solely by public agencies (e.g., Federal, State, county, or municipal governments), nearly one-third are owned entirely by private parties and the remaining are owned or administered by a mixture of public and private owners.

Check out the map below to explore NNL sites nearby or faraway.

Please remember, NNLs are not units of the National Park System. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation. For additional site information or questions regarding access, please contact the appropriate NNL Coordinator as determined by state.

Last updated: December 13, 2023


  • Site Index