The National Trails System Act

The National Trails System Act of 1968, as amended, calls for establishing trails in both urban and rural settings for people of all ages, interests, skills, and physical abilities. The act promotes the enjoyment and appreciation of trails while encouraging greater public access. It establishes four classes of trails: national scenic trails, national historic trails, national recreation trails, and side and connecting trails.

The National Park Service encourages all public and private agencies to develop, maintain, and protect trails. With the cooperation and support of a nationwide trails community, the vision of an interconnected, cross-country trail system will become a reality. 

Visit our keyboard shortcuts docs for details
55 seconds

Help us celebrate the upcoming 50th anniversary of the National Trails System and the Wild & Scenic Rivers acts in 2018. Over the next two years, #FindYourWay will invite visitors from all backgrounds to explore America’s trails and rivers.

Hiker on the Pacific Crest Trail

National Scenic Trails

Explore your National Scenic Trails

Covered wagon on the Oregon Trail

National Historic Trails

Explore your National Historic Trails

Trail leading through rocks and fog

National Recreation Trails

Explore your National Recreation Trails

Last updated: June 5, 2018