NPMap

Web mapping tools for the NPS


The NPMap suite of web map tools enables NPS employees and partners to tell the story of the nation's most cherished places using innovative mapping techniques and technologies. Maps built using NPMap Builder, Park Tiles, NPMap.js, and the NPMap Symbol Library make these places come alive for visitors to our national parks.
 

Park Tiles

Park Tiles is a suite of online basemaps designed to fit the National Park Service’s graphic identity. Built with simplicity and flexibility in mind, Park Tiles basemaps can be used as stand-alone reference maps, or customized web maps with additional data overlays. Park Tiles uses data from NPS national enterprise datasets to depict features within park boundaries. Outside of park boundaries, Park Tiles relies on OpenStreetMap data to provide additional context. While Park Tiles is only available to National Park Service employees for use in the agency's digital products, it provides an important way to share information with visitors.

 
 
Park Tiles is a suite of basemaps built by the National Park Service for use by the National Park Service. It is intended to fit into the agency's rich graphic tradition. Because of this, only National Park Service entities and official National Park Service partners may use it in their mapping projects.

Symbols for points of interest are not "baked in" to map tiles. Based on feedback from Park Tiles stakeholders, we've determined that the best practice is to support points of interest as an interactive overlay, managed at the application level. This approach provides several advantages:

  • Individual parks and programs can determine which points of interest to feature in their own web map applications, and how those points of interest are symbolized.
  • Points of interest added as an overlay can be interactive, revealing information to the user with a hover or click, and again, this interactivity and the information displayed can be determined by individual parks and programs to best suit their needs.
  • Removing points of interest from the basemap eliminates overlaps and visual conflicts with interactive overlays.

One frequently-used application of Park Tiles is nps.gov. In this application, points of interest housed in the NPS point of interest national dataset can be toggled on/off and popups display when points of interest are selected. POITYPE values stored in the national points of interest dataset associated with each point of interest determine their map symbols, and are grouped to control what zoom level they initially display at as well as drawing priority. Symbol display groups are listed below, ordered by drawing priority. Points of interest in Alaska are handled separately due to Web Mercator map projection properties.

Alaska Visitor Centers display at z3+    
POITYPE symbol svg
Visitor Center visitor-center
     
Alaska Points of Interest group 1 display at z7+    
POITYPE symbol svg
Airstrip airfield
Landing Strip    
Cabin cabin
Hut    
Campground campground
Clinic first-aid
First Aid Station    
Food Service food-service
Hospital hospital
Information Board information
Information    
Lodge lodging
Lodging    
Ranger Station ranger-station
Seaplane Base sea-plane
Shelter shelter
Weather Shelter tornado-shelter
Trailhead trailhead
Hiking    
Non-Motorized Trail    
     
Alaska Points of Interest group 2 display at z9+    
POITYPE symbol svg
Boat Launch boat-launch
Bus Stop / Shuttle Stop bus-stop
Primitive Camping campsite
Campsite    
Canoe / Kayak Access canoe-access
Food Box / Food Cache food-cache
Geyser geyser
Lighthouse lighthouse
Tower lookout-tower
Anchorage marina
Mooring    
Marina    
Boat Dock    
Harbor    
Museum museum
Parking Lot parking
Picnic Table picnic-area
Picnic Area    
Point of Interest point-of-interest
Post Office post-office
Mailbox post-office
Viewpoint scenic-viewpoint
Overlook    
Store store
Ferry Terminal vehicle-ferry
Forest wilderness
Tree    
Woods    
Grove    
Park    
     
Alaska points of interest group 3 display at z11+    
POITYPE symbol svg
Campfire Ring campfire
Chapel chapel
Cathedral    
Church chapel
Historic Site historic-feature
Historic Building    
Historic Cabin    
Historic District    
Historic Marker    
Historic Mine    
Historic Ruins    
Historic Ship    
Interpretive Exhibit interpretive-exhibit
Memorial monument
Monument    
Restroom restrooms
Showers showers
Gateway Sign sign
Trail Marker    
Regulatory Sign    
Battlefield Marker    
Sculpture statue
Totem Pole    
     
Visitor Centers display at z8+    
POITYPE symbol svg
Visitor Center visitor-center
     
Entrance Stations display at z8+    
POITYPE symbol svg
Entrance Station entrance-station
     
Points of Interest group 1 display at z11+    
POITYPE symbol svg
Landing Strip airfield
Airstrip airfield  
Airport airport
Campground campground
Emergency Telephone emergency-telephone
Clinic first-aid
First Aid Station first-aid  
Gas Station gas-station
Hospital hospital
Information Board information
Information information  
Library library
Lighthouse lighthouse
Lodge lodging
Lodging lodging  
Tower lookout-tower
Museum museum
Train Station rail-station
Ranger Station ranger-station
Viewpoint scenic-viewpoint
Overlook scenic-viewpoint  
Shelter shelter
Weather Shelter tornado-shelter
Waterfall waterfall
     
Points of Interest group 2 display at z13+    
POITYPE symbol svg
Motorized Trail all-terrain-trail
All-Terrain Vehicle Trail all-terrain-trail  
All-Terrain Vehicle Trail all-terrain-trail  
Motorized Trail all-terrain-trail  
Amphitheater amphitheater
Beach beach-access
Bicycle Trail bicycle-trail
Bicycle Trail bicycle-trail  
Bookstore bookstore
Bus Stop / Shuttle Stop bus-stop
Cabin cabin
Hut cabin  
Primitive Camping campsite
Campsite campsite  
Canoe / Kayak Access canoe-access
Cave Entrance caving
Cross-Country Ski Trail cross-country-ski-trail
Dam dam
Backcountry Ski Trail downhill-skiing
Downhill Ski Trail downhill-skiing  
Pavilion event-facility
Fishing fishing
Flag Pole flagpole
Food Service food-service
Geyser geyser
Anchorage marina
Mooring marina  
Marina marina  
Boat Dock marina  
Harbor marina  
Picnic Table picnic-area
Picnic Area picnic-area  
Post Office post-office
Mailbox post-office  
RV Campground rv-campground
Sailing sailing
Seaplane Base sea-plane
Self Guiding Trail self-guiding-trail
Wreck shipwreck
Showers showers
Sledding sledding
Gift Shop souvenir-shop
Spring spring
Store store
Swimming Area swimming
Cinema theater
Trailhead trailhead
Hiking trailhead
Non-Motorized Trail trailhead  
Trail Sign trailhead-information
Trail Register trailhead-information  
Tunnel tunnel
Ferry Terminal vehicle-ferry
Wheelchair Accessible wheelchair-accessible
Forest wilderness
Tree wilderness  
Woods wilderness  
Grove wilderness  
Park wilderness  
     
Points of Interest group 3 display at z14+    
POITYPE symbol svg
ATM atm
Bench benches-seating
Bike Rack bike-rack
Boat Launch boat-launch
Boat Storage boat-trailer-parking
Bridge bridge
Brochure Box brochure
Campfire Ring campfire
Fortification cannon
Battlefield cannon  
Cannon cannon  
Chapel chapel
Cathedral chapel  
Church chapel  
Garden community-garden
Directional Sign directions
Fountain drinking-water
Potable Water drinking-water  
Entrance / Exit entrance
Fish Cleaning fish-cleaning
Fish Hatchery fish-hatchery
Floating Restroom floating-dump-station
Food Box / Food Cache food-cache
Golf Course golfing
Grill grill
Water Access hand-launch-small-boat-launch
Historic Site historic-feature
Historic Building historic-feature  
Historic Cabin historic-feature  
Historic District historic-feature  
Historic Marker historic-feature  
Historic Mine historic-feature  
Historic Ruins historic-feature  
Historic Ship historic-feature  
Steps hold-hand-rail
Horse Camp horseback-riding
Horseback Riding horseback-riding  
Ice Rink ice-skating
Interpretive Exhibit interpretive-exhibit
Laundry laundry
Litter Receptacle litter-receptacle
Information Map maps
Memorial monument
Monument monument  
Parking Lot parking
Fee Booth passes-and-fees
Vault Toilet pit-toilet
Playground playground
Point of Interest point-of-interest
Recycling recycling
Restroom restrooms
Dump Station sanitary-disposal-station
Scuba Diving scuba-diving
Gateway Sign sign
Trail Marker sign  
Regulatory Sign sign  
Battlefield Marker sign  
Stable stable
Sculpture statue
Totem Pole statue  
Telephone telephone
Dumpster trash-dumpster

Please see our Disclaimer section regarding NPS Lands depicted in Park Tiles. This section currently under construction; more updates coming soon!

Highway / Primary Road Secondary Road Local, Service, or Parking Lot Road Paved Unpaved Private Road (No Public Access) 4WD Road Paved Pedestrian Path Standard Terra Trail Unofficial / Non-NPS Trail National Scenic Trail National Historic Trail (approximate) Boardwalk Publicly-accessibleNPS buildings All otherbuildings NPS Park Lands(green fill) Wilderness Boundary Wilderness Area NPS Proclaimed Boundary Privately-Owned Lands OtherPublic/ParkLands

Third-Party APIs and Services

The National Park Service (NPS) utilizes basemap, geocoding, and routing services from a number of different providers in its digital maps. This usage of, and any reference to, non-U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI) products does not constitute an endorsement by the DOI.

Here are disclaimers for the services and libraries the NPS uses to build its web maps:

You can find more information on the general NPS disclaimer page.
 

Boundaries

The National Park Service unit extents shown in NPMap products (Places and Park Tiles) do not all pull from the official NPS source, the Land Resources Division (Lands), and should not be considered authoritative.

Lands Data

The NPS unit extents originating with the Land Resources Division shown in NPMap products represent the legislated boundary of each park. The NPS does not necessarily own or hold any interest (easement, right of way, etc.) in all areas contained within these boundaries. Equivalently, the NPS may own an interest in lands outside the legislated boundary.

You can download the official Lands dataset, and view the full metadata, on the NPS Data Store (click through the “NPS Park Boundaries” link on that page). NPS ownership data can also be downloaded for each unit by clicking on the park level “Details” links provided. Boundary and property ownership data are a cartographic interpretation of legislation, deeds, plats, surveys, and other source data. These datasets are not engineering quality drawings and should be used for administrative purposes only.

Liability

The National Park Service shall not be held liable for improper or incorrect use of the data described and/or contained herein. These data and related graphics are not legal documents and are not intended to be used as such.

The information contained in these data is dynamic and may change over time. The data are not better than the original sources from which they were derived. It is the responsibility of the data user to use the data appropriately and consistent within the limitations of geospatial data in general and these data in particular. The related graphics are intended to aid the data user in acquiring relevant data; it is not appropriate to use the related graphics as data.

The National Park Service gives no warranty, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of these data. It is strongly recommended that these data are directly acquired from an NPS server and not indirectly through other sources which may have changed the data in some way. Although these data have been processed successfully on a computer system at the National Park Service, no warranty expressed or implied is made regarding the utility of the data on another system or for general or scientific purposes, nor shall the act of distribution constitute any such warranty. This disclaimer applies both to individual use of the data and aggregate use with other data.

 

 

NPMap Symbol Library

The NPMap Symbol Library is the National Park Service’s web map icon set. The Symbol Library has a clear and distinctive graphic identity that is based on the map symbols developed by the Harpers Ferry Center for its print brochure maps. Each of the pictographic symbols has been carefully adapted to address legibility and accessibility needs specific to the web. This attention to detail helps us provide a clear window into the large number of amenities, services, and attractions offered by our national parks.
 
 

NPMap Builder

NPMap Builder (also known as “Builder”) walks users through the process of building beautiful, accessible, and usable maps step-by-step and deploying them to either NPS.gov or a standalone website. Builder uses the other NPMap tools listed below, wrapping them in a simple, targeted interface designed to be used by National Park Service employees who have no experience writing code or building maps. Maps built using this tool adhere to NPS graphic identity standards and make extensive use of the the powerful Leaflet web mapping library. NPS employees can access the internal version of Builder at http://insidemaps.nps.gov/builder/ (NPS-only) while connected to the agency’s network.

Maps developed with Builder can be found all across NPS.gov, including the map of VA clinics shown below.
 

Last updated: August 20, 2021