Class I Areas

The Clean Air Act gives special air quality and visibility protection to national parks larger than 6,000 acres and national wilderness areas larger than 5,000 acres that were in existence when it was amended in 1977. These are “Class I” areas. All other areas are “Class II”. Because air pollution is often regional in nature, reductions in pollution to improve visibility in Class I parks will also improve visibility in all parks in the surrounding area. Class I areas are managed by the National Park Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. Forest Service, and several Native American Tribes.

National Park Service

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

U.S. Forest Service

Native American Tribal Lands

All Federal Class I Areas

Last updated: March 13, 2018

Experience More



  • Site Index