Ongoing Projects

Salem Maritime National Historic Site often has construction and restoration projects happening at the park. These projects help improve the experience for visitors and preserve the unique resources in Salem.

To learn about ongoing projects at the park, check the project listings below.

The deck and bow of a large wooden ship.

Friendship of Salem Repair Work

Friendship of Salem is undergoing work to replace the deck and significant portions of the transom, bulwarks and associated framing. This project started in the fall of 2022, with work anticipated to be completed in the winter of 2023.

The work is being performed at the ship's home berth on Derby Wharf in Salem, Massachusetts and was funded through the National Park Service’s Recreation Fee Program.

For updates about the progress of this work, visit the Friendship of Salem project page.
A large brick building with decorative metal and woodwork. A large sign says " CUSTOM HOUSE"

Custom House Repair and Preservation Project

Work is underway to repair and preserve portions of the Custom House and Bonded Warehouse. These significant repairs are being made to correct years of deterioration of the historic structures and protect these important pieces of American history. The majority of the work is being performed on-site on Derby Street and was funded through the National Park Service’s Repair Rehabilitation Program.

The project includes extensive repairs to exterior and interior features of the building, including the portico, railings, shutters, cupola, snow and ice rail, roof, chimneys and plaster walls. All wood and metal on the exterior of the building, and interior surfaces, will be painted. Additionally, an ultraviolet protection layer will be applied to window interiors. The project is expected to be completed by winter 2023.

For updates about the progress of this work, visit the Custom House project page.

Wooden fence posts along a brick walking path

Wooden Fence Behind the Derby House

Work has restarted to replace the wooden fence around the colonial revival garden behind the Derby House. This work is expected to take a few months to complete.

The new fences will follow the existing fence lines to ensure that fence designs and heights will not be changed from the original historic 1930s/1940s Norman Newton designs. Modifications include changing the wood type in some locations to ones that are more resistant to rot. The color of the fence will remain the same but will be stained instead of painted in order to increase durability.
A man standing on a ladder doing carpentry repair work on a wooden building

West India Goods Store

Exterior carpentry repairs are underway at the West India Goods Store. The work is expected to be completed by Spring 2024. Work includes replacing damaged or cracked clap boards, small dutchman repairs on sills and sheathing, treating wooden gutters with linseed oil, and scraping and prepping for painting.

The first documented use of this building as a West India Goods Store was in 1836. Captain Henry Prince sold items from the West Indies—molasses, sugar, coffee—as well as local produce and products. Engaging in mercantilism could be profitable, but was also risky. Prince's financial problems led to the auction of this store and his wife's inherited property.
The structure underwent numerous changes throughout its history, including two moves, before it was rehabilitated in 1928 by the Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities (now Historic New England). After modifying the structure the title was transferred to the city of Salem, who in turn donated it to the National Park Service in 1937. Today the building is used as staff offfices.

Last updated: January 24, 2024

Park footer

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

160 Derby Street
Salem, MA 01970



Contact Us