The Visitor Center at Valley Forge is open daily, 9 AM to 5 PM. The building is home to The Encampment Store, the Valley Forge Tourism & Convention Board Montgomery County Welcome Center regional travel desk, and an information desk staffed by park rangers.
First opened in 1976, this unique structure was constructed partially underground in order to evoke the earthworks and fortifications built by the Continental Army during their encampment here. The building has recently undergone a $12 million rehabilitation project and features improved physical accessibility, upgraded security and fire protection, improved collections storage, an all-new HVAC system, windows, flooring, carpets, signage, and a variety of energy efficiency improvements.
All new interpretive and museum exhibits are projected to be installed during the fall of 2021. These exhibits will immerse visitors in the six-month period of the 1777-1778 winter encampment through color, sound, and textures of wood, metal, and mud.