Visit the Region

Midwest Region Map

Apostle Islands Lighthouse
Sand Island Lighthouse, Apostle Islands

NPS Photo

National Parks

The Midwest Region has over 60 national park units ranging from wilderness areas, lakeshore habitats, winding rivers, recreational trails, historic sites, and battlefields. Hike along a ridge top trail, paddle down a historic waterway, walk along a sand dune, visit a hallowed civil war battlefield, enjoy the homes of our Presidents, or embrace the spirit of exploration.

Planning a trip? Use the Find a Park tool.

MotorCities National Heritage Area

NPS Photo

National Heritage Areas

There are eight
National Heritage Areas in the Midwest Region. National Heritage Areas (NHAs) are designated by Congress as places where natural, cultural, and historic resources combine to form a cohesive, nationally important landscape. Through their resources, NHAs tell nationally important stories that celebrate our nation's diverse heritage.
Kayak along St. Croix
Saint Croix National Scenic Riverway

NPS Photo

National Wild and Scenic Rivers

In 1968, a Presidential commission recommended that the nation protect wild rivers and scenic rivers from development that would substantially change their wild or scenic nature. Since the nearly 13,000 miles of river in 38 states and Puerto Rico are preserved for possessing outstandingly remarkable scenic, recreational, geologic, fish and wildlife, historic, cultural, or other similar values.
Three Forks from Lewis Lookout
Three Forks from Lewis Lookout, Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail

NPS Photo

National Trails
Traveling a National Trail brings you into direct contact with adventure, history, heritage, community, and nature. The National Trails Act of 1968 established a national system of trails. Today, the act authorizes four categories of trails: scenic trails, historic trails, recreation, and connecting trails.
Avoca River-Bottom Prairie, a National Natural Landmark in Wisconsin.
Avoca River-Bottom Prairie, a National Natural Landmark in Wisconsin.

NPS Photo

National Natural Landmarks

National Natural Landmarks are the best examples of biological and geological features found both public and private ownership are selected for their outstanding condition, illustrative value, rarity, diversity, and value to science and education. Sites are designated by the Secretary of the Interior, with landowner concurrence, and to-date, nearly 600 landmarks have received the NNL designation within the United States, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
Main House of Spring Hill Ranch, Kansas
Main House of Spring Hill Ranch, Kansas

NPS Photo

National Historic Landmarks

National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are nationally significant historic places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. Today, just over 2,500 historic places bear this national distinction. The Midwest Region is home to approximately 450 Landmarks (view map) that represent the diverse history of the Midwest.

Last updated: April 5, 2016