LMDI Region

Map of the Lower Mississippi Delta Region

The National Park Service (NPS), Lower Mississippi Delta Initiative (LMDI) was established in 1994 when Public Law (PL) 103-433 was passed. The law declared 219 counties across the states of Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee the Lower Mississippi Delta Region. The goal of the program is to initiate projects to preserve the region’s cultural and natural resources and to increase tourism.

In its 25th year of operation, the program is looking to reflect on its past to identify the way forward for the future. To achieve this, the Cultural Resource Program at the Southeast Regional Office and the Lower Mississippi Delta Initiative Advisory Board have partnered with the Eppley Institute to complete an administrative history and engage stakeholders to document the past and present of the initiative.

This project will provide baseline documentation of the program, an evaluation of the best use of funding, and options for the advisory committee to select as the path moving forward.

Administrative History

The administrative history examines past funding, grant partners, and legislative purpose and will be supported by interviews with select stakeholders to understand stakeholder perceptions of outreach, effectiveness, and connection to the Lower Mississippi Delta Initiative enabling legislation.

View the Published Report

Last updated: April 23, 2024