Lewis and Clark River Paddle Tours

Hop in a two person watercraft and paddle along the lush riverbanks of the Lewis and Clark River. See bald eagles soar while you calmly float through history and hear a unique perspective of Lewis and Clark National Historical Park. The themes of these three hour ranger-led paddles will vary and include natural and cultural topics geared for all interests.


Tours will run Thursday through Sunday during the summer. Tours will start on June 24, 2017 and run through September 3, 2017.

  • The park will provide water craft, paddles, and life jackets however, if you are a special size you may want to bring your own life jacket.
  • Reservations are required will start in June 1st and will be on a first come first served basis.
  • Register at Eventbrite.
  • Or call the reservation line at (503)861-4425 to leave a message.
    If you call for reservation, please allow a couple of days for us to process your reservation. A confirmation letter will be sent to your e-mail.
  • Children age 10 and up are welcome. Each child must be accompanied by an adult. (2 children = 2 adults)
  • Due to tides, the start time of each tour changes. Meet at the Netul Landing (south entrance) at the boat launch area, one mile south of Fort Clatsop visitor center.
  • Tour is free with park admission.
  • Use of personal watercraft is limited and must be preapproved.
Date Time

JUNE

June 24, 2017; Saturday 1:00 PM
June 25, 2017; Sunday 1:45 PM
June 29, 2017; Thursday 5:00 PM
June 30, 2017; Friday 5:45 PM

JULY

July 1, 2017; Saturday 6:30 PM
July 2, 2017; Sunday 7:00 AM
July 6, 2017; Thursday 11:00 AM
July 7, 2017; Friday 11:45 AM
July 8, 2017; Saturday 12:30 PM
July 9, 2017; Sunday 1:00 PM
July 13, 2017; Thursday 3:30 PM
July 14, 2017: Friday 4:00 PM
July 15, 2017; Saturday 4:45 PM
July 16, 2017;Sunday 5:30 PM
July 20, 2017; Thursday 10:00 AM
July 21, 2017; Friday 11:00 AM
July 22, 2017; Saturday, Kids Day, Designed for kids 5-10 yrs. 11:45 AM
July 23, 2017; Sunday 12:30 PM
July 27, 2017 Thursday 3:30 PM
July 28, 2017 Friday 4:00 PM
July 29, 2017 Saturday; Tour conducted in Spanish 5:00 PM
July 30, 2017 Sunday 5:30 PM

AUGUST

August 3, 2017; Thursday 9:45 AM
August 4, 2017; Friday 10:30 AM
August 5, 2017; Saturday 11:15 AM
August 6, 2017; Sunday Kids Day, Designed for kids 5-10 yrs. 12:00 PM
August 10, 2017; Thursday 2:00 PM
August 11, 2017; Friday 2:45 PM
August 12, 2017; Saturday 3:15 PM
August 13, 2017; Sunday 4:00 PM
August 17, 2017; Thursday 8:30 AM
August 18, 2017; Friday 9:30 AM
August 19, 2017; Saturday 10:30 AM
August 20, 2017; Sunday 11:30 AM
August 24, 2017; Thursday 2:00 PM
August 25, 2017; Friday 2:45 PM
August 26, 2017; Saturday 3:15 PM
August 27, 2017; Sunday 4:00 PM
August 31, 2017; Thursday 8:15 AM

SEPTEMBER

September 1, 2017; Friday 9:15 AM
September 2, 2017; Saturday 10:00 AM
September 3, 2017; Sunday 10:45 AM

 

Participation Requirements:

  • Register prior to paddle
  • Physically able to complete a three hour paddle
  • Have basic swimming skills
  • Not afraid of falling into the water
  • Each child must be 10 years or older, must meet the above requirements, must be accompanied by an adult, and be able to paddle without assistance
  • Life jackets will be worn properly at all times during the paddle and only taken off when on land.
  • Participants exhibiting intoxicated or inappropriate behavior will be asked to leave.
  • Please no pets.
  • Each participant will be required to sign a liability form on the day of the paddle.
  • The paddle could be canceled because of inclement or unsafe weather conditions.

Please arrive at least 15 minutes before the scheduled start time. The first 30 minutes will be a safety and boat use orientation. If the participant(s) miss this orientation then the reservation will be cancelled.

Participants should dress and bring the following the day of the paddle:

  • Clothing that can get wet
  • Layers and protective clothing such as windbreakers
  • Hat and Sunglasses, Water (a bottle for each person), snacks, sunscreen and insect repellent
  • Footwear must be worn at all times; footwear that attaches to the front of the foot and around the heel; no flip flops or high heels.
  • Change of clothes and towel to be left in the participant's vehicle in case participant gets wet.

Last updated: June 8, 2017

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

Lewis and Clark National Historical Park
92343 Fort Clatsop Road

Astoria, OR 97103

Phone:

(503) 861-2471

Contact Us