Old Faithful banner

Lobby > Exhibits > Hot Water Treasures > Upper Geyser Basin

Upper Geyser Basin

Yellowstone National Park has approximately half of the world’s geysers—and most of them are located at the Upper Geyser Basin. One square mile contains at least 150 of these hydrothermal wonders, making this area the most densely concentrated geyser region in the world. Five major geysers—Old Faithful, Grand, Castle, Daisy, and Riverside are located here.

Upper Geyser Basin as seen in winter

The Upper Geyser Basin consists of several different sections, including the Old Faithful area, Geyser Hill, the area between Castle Geyser and Morning Glory Pool, Black Sand Basin, and Biscuit Basin.

Next Area: Old Faithful | Choose Another Area | Global Context

drawing of the OFVEC
Young Scientists
Yellowstone Express
Why Geysers Erupt
Hot Water Treasures
Hot Spring Ecology
Scientific Research

This work is supported by

National Science Foundation    Yellowstone Park Foundation

Last Updated: 00/00/00; Make an email comment or suggestion