Come Join Us for An Evening At the Cape Lookout Lighthouse!

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: May 12, 2016
Contact: B.G. Horvat, 252-728-2250, ext. 3014

HARKERS ISLAND, NC –Superintendent Patrick M. Kenney is pleased to announce this year's evening climbs of the Cape Lookout Lighthouse. This opportunity will be offered on select dates near the full moon during the months of May, June, July, August, and September. Bring your own flashlight and experience the island and the lighthouse as the keepers did, in the dark of night. Hear stories of the light keepers, watch the sunset and moon and stars come out on the unlit beaches of Cape Lookout National Seashore. Discover a different side to your favorite beach!

Beginning on May 11, reservations will be taken for the May 20 and 21 climbs between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. To reserve your space, call 252-725-9373.

The cost of the program is $28 (price includes ferry fee) and is non-refundable (weather dependent). There will be one evening ferry trip on each date for all the climbs on that night; the ferry will depart Harkers Island at 7:30 p.m. and return at about 10:00 p.m.

Children joining the climb must be at least 44-inches tall and able to climb the steps on their own. Children 12 years of age and younger must be accompanied by an adult (16 or older). Footwear is required as well.

Save the Date! The park is currently converting its reservation process for Evening at the Cape tours set to take place in June and beyond to www.recreation.gov. For more information go to: https://go.nps.gov/eveningatcape.htm.

Dates for an Evening at Cape Lookout Lighthouse

  • Friday, May 20
  • Saturday, May 21
  • Thursday, June 16*
  • Friday, June 17*
  • Saturday, June 18*
  • Thursday, July 21
  • Friday, July 22
  • Saturday, July 23
  • Thursday, August 18
  • Friday, August 19
  • Saturday, August 20
  • Friday, September 16
  • Saturday, September 17

*Cape Lookout National Seashore 50th Anniversary/NPS Centennial Celebration Weekend



Last updated: May 12, 2016

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

131 Charles St
Harkers Island, NC 28531

Phone:

(252) 728-2250

Contact Us