Federal Land Managers of National Monuments Established Under the Authority of the Antiquities Act

The Antiquities Act of 1906 empowers Presidents of the United States to proclaim national monuments from existing federal lands. The lists below include lands 1) set aside only by presidential proclamation under the authority of the Antiquities Act and 2) that remain federally-managed lands. Parcels proclaimed separately but managed today as one unit are listed on one line, with the current name. Note, however, that:

  • Ocmulgee National Monument was established by Congress. President F. Roosevelt, however, used the Antiquities Act to expand the national monument. Because Ocmulgee was not created originally under the authority of the Antiquities Act, it is not included in this list.

  • In a few cases, Congress has passed legislation authorizing the President to proclaim national monuments. These national monuments are not listed here, because their proclamations cite the President’s authority from Congressional action, rather than the Antiquities Act. Examples include Ackia Battlefield, Colonial, Andrew Jackson, and Perry’s Victory. The list at 54 U.S.C. §320301 includes these national monuments among those established by presidential proclamation authorized by the Antiquities Act.

For specific information about each national monument, vist National Monument Facts and Figures.

BLM = Bureau of Land Management (Department of the Interior)
FS = United States Forest Service (Department of Agriculture)
FWS = United States Fish and Wildlife Service (Department of Interior)
NPS = National Park Service (Department of the Interior)
NOAA = National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (Department of Commerce)
President Lincoln’s Cottage = President Lincoln’s Cottage, a 501(c)(3)
US Army = United States Army (Department of Defense)

NPS alone manages:
1. Devils Tower
2. El Morro
3. Montezuma Castle
4. Petrified Forest
5. Chaco Canyon (now Chaco Culture)
6. Cinder Cone and Lassen Peak (now Lassen Volcanic)
7. Gila Cliff Dwellings
8. Tonto
9. Muir Woods
10. Grand Canyon “I,” Grand Canyon “II,” Marble Canyon (now Grand Canyon)
11. Pinnacles
12. Jewel Cave
13. Natural Bridges
14. Tumacácori
15. Mount Olympus (now Olympic)
16. Navajo
17. Oregon Caves
18. Mukuntu-Weap, Mukuntuweap/Zion, Zion “II” (now Zion)
19. Gran Quivira (now Salinas Pueblo Missions)
20. Sitka
21. Rainbow Bridge
22. Big Hole Battlefield
23. Colorado
24. Devil Postpile
25. Cabrillo
26. Dinosaur
27. Walnut Canyon
28. Bandelier
29. Sieur de Monts (now Acadia)
30. Capulin Mountain (now Capulin Volcano)
31. Casa Grande
32. Katmai
33. Scotts Bluff
34. Yucca House
35. Lehman Caves
36. Timpanogos Cave
37. Aztec Ruin
38. Hovenweep
39. Mound City Group (now Hopewell Culture)
40. Pipe Springs
41. Bryce Canyon
42. Carlsbad Cave
43. Chiricahua
44. Fort Marion (now Castillo de San Marcos)
45. Fort Wood (now Statue of Liberty)
46. Fort Pulaski
47. Fort Matanzas
48. Wupatki
49. Meriwether Lewis (now Natchez Trace)
50. Glacier Bay
51. Lava Beds
52. Arches
53. Sunset Crater (now Sunset Crater Volcano)
54. Great Sand Dunes
55. White Sands
56. Death Valley
57. Saguaro
58. Black Canyon of the Gunnison
59. Cedar Breaks
60. Fort Jefferson (now Dry Tortugas)
61. Joshua Tree
62. Organ Pipe Cactus
63. Capitol Reef
64. Channel Islands
65. Fort Laramie
66. Santa Rosa Island (now Gulf Islands)
67. Tuzigoot
68. Jackson Hole (now Grand Teton)
69. Effigy Mounds
70. Edison Laboratory
71. Chesapeake & Ohio Canal
72. Russell Cave
73. Buck Island Reef
74. Aniakchak
75. Bering Land Bridge
76. Cape Krusenstern
77. Denali
78. Gates of the Arctic
9. Kenai Fjords
80. Kobuk Valley
81. Lake Clark
82. Noatak
83. Wrangell-St. Elias
84. Yukon-Charley Rivers
85. Minidoka Internment (now Minidoka)
86. Virgin Islands Coral Reef
87. Governors Island
88. African Burial Ground
89. World War II Valor in the Pacific (now Aleutian Islands World War II National Historic Area (NPS affiliated area / Alaska Maritime National Wildlife Refuge), Pearl Harbor National Memorial, Tule Lake National Monument)
90. Fort Monroe
91. César E. Chávez
92. First State
93. Charles Young Buffalo Soldiers
94. Honouliuli
95. Pullman
96. Waco Mammoth
97. Castle Mountain
98. Belmont-Paul Women’s Equality
99. Stonewall
100. Katahdin Woods and Waters
101. Birmingham Civil Rights
102. Freedom Riders
103. Reconstruction Era
104. Camp Nelson
105. Emmett Till and Mamie Till-Mobley

NPS and BLM co-manage:
1. Grand Canyon-Parashant
2. Craters of the Moon
3. Avi Kwa Ame

NPS and FWS co-manage:
1. Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad (Note: World War II Valor in the Pacific National Monument, which included sites managed by FWS and NPS, was altered by the Dingell Act in 2020. FWS and NPS independently manage sites set aside by the original proclamation: Aleutian Islands World War II National Historic Area (NPS affiliated area / Alaska Maritime National Wildlife Refuge), Pearl Harbor National Memorial, Tule Lake National Monument.

BLM alone manages:
1. Fossil Cycad
2. Grand Staircase-Escalante
3. Agua Fria
4. California Coastal
5. Canyon of the Ancients
6. Cascade-Siskiyou
7. Ironwood Forest
8. Vermillion Cliffs
9. Carrizo Plain
10. Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks
11. Pompeys Pillar
12. Sonoran Desert
13. Upper Missouri River Breaks
14. Fort Ord
15. San Juan Islands
16. Rio Grande del Norte
17. Organ Mountains-Desert Peaks
18. Basin and Range
19. Mojave Trails
20. Gold Butte
21. Shoshone Cavern (abolished, now unnamed but BLM managed)

BLM and FS co-manage:
1. Browns Canyon
2. Berryessa Snow Mountain
3. Sand to Snow
4. Bears Ears
5. Baaj Nwaavjo I'tah Kukveni—Ancestral Footprints of the Grand Canyon

FS alone manages:
1. Wheeler (now part of Rio Grande National Forest)
2. Old Kasaan, Admiralty Island, Misty Fjords (now part of Tongass National Forest)
3. Holy Cross (now part of White River National Forest)
4. Giant Sequoia (now Sequoia National Forest)
5. Chimney Rock
6. San Gabriel Mountains
7. Camp Hale-Continental Divide

FWS alone manages:
1. Becharof
2. Yukon Flats
3. Hanford Reach

FWS and NOAA co-manage:
1. Papahānaumokuākea Marine
2. Rose Atoll
3. Pacific Remote Islands
4. Marianas Trench
5. Northeast Canyons and Seamounts

President Lincoln’s Cottage manages:
1. President Lincoln and Soldiers' Home (Note: President Lincoln’s Cottage is located on federal land, but receives no federal funding.)

US Army alone manages:
1. Castner Range

Last updated: February 8, 2024