• View of the White House's north side from Layfatte Park

    President's Park (White House)

    District of Columbia

There are park alerts in effect.
show Alerts »
  • White House Fence Restoration and Sidewalk Closure

    The National Park Service is restoring the White House fence along Pennsylvania Avenue, portions of which are believed to date back to 1818. During this restoration work, sections of the White House sidewalk will be temporarily closed for public safety. More »

  • Construction Project Affecting the White House Sidewalk

    Due to a construction project, a portion of both the White House sidewalk and Pennsylvania Avenue near East Executive Avenue will be closed until April 2015.

Bicycling Information


Bicycles are welcome in President's Park and bicycle parking is provided at the southeast corner of the Ellipse Visitor Pavilion.

Bicycles are permitted on roadways and most sidewalks in the park, except for the White House sidewalk and the interior sidewalks of the First Division Monument, Sherman Park, and Lafayette Park due to safety and resource protection reasons. Please walk your bicycle through these portions of the park. Pedicabs are not allowed anywhere other than park roads. Your assistance in preserving a respectful experience for all visitors is appreciated.

Rental Bicycles
Bicycles are available for rent throughout the city. Rental options include:
  • Thompson Boat Center, located nearby in Georgetown at 2900 Virginia Avenue, NW.
  • Bike and Roll, located off of 12th Street in the rear plaza of the Old Post Office Tower (1100 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW).
  • Capital Bikeshare, with rental stations throughout the city. The closest stations to the White House Visitor Center are at 14th and D Street, NW / Ronald Reagan Building and 14th and G Street, NW.

Did You Know?

Franklin Delano Roosevelt

On June 10, 1933, President Franklin Delano Roosevelt signed Executive Order 6166, which placed jurisdiction of all the public lands in the federal city, including the President's Park, under the Department of the Interior's National Park Service.