• Halema`uma`u Just Before Dawn

    Hawai'i Volcanoes

    National Park Hawai'i

There are park alerts in effect.
show Alerts »
  • April 16, 2014 - Mauna Loa Update

    The recent wind advisory has been lifted and Mauna Loa has reopened for backcountry hiking and camping at Red Hill and the Summit.  However, More »

Stewardship at the Summit!

Paul and Jane Field
Paul and Jane Field Removing Invasive Himalayan Ginger
NPS Photo / Jessica Ferracane
 

Volunteers Paul and Jane Field lead "Stewardship at the Summit" and you are invited to participate!

Come help out the park and the 'aina (land) by cutting invasive himalayan ginger (Heydechium gardnerianum) on park trails. Loppers and gloves are provided. Participants are encouraged to wear long sleeve shirts, long pants and close toed shoes. Work is often in the shade of the forest with sweet sounds of native honey creepers like 'apapane, 'amakihi and 'ōma'o above to serenade as you work. Water, snacks, rain gear and sun protection are recommended.

This project is open to the public and no reservations are required. Interested people can stop by Kīlauea Visitor Center to get directions and more information. The hike is around a 1 mile, moderate round trip into Kīlauea caldera down the Halem'auma'u trail, leaving from Kīlauea Visitor Center. The hike involves walking over rough uneven terrain on a dirt and rock path, with up to a 400' elevation change.

Contact Andrea Kaawaloa-Okita for more information at 808-985-6013 or email Andrea

Time:
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon

 

Dates:
Saturday, March 22, 2014
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Saturday, April 5, 2014
Saturday, April 12, 2014
Friday, April 18, 2014
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Friday, May 9, 3014
Saturday, May 17, 2014
Friday, May 23, 2014
Friday, May 30, 2014
Friday, June 6, 2014
Friday, June 13, 2014
Friday, June 20, 2014
Friday, June 27, 2014

Did You Know?

Ripe `ohelo berries ready to be eaten by nene.

`Ohelo (Vaccinium reticulatum) is a relative of blueberries and a favorite food of nene, the Hawaiian Goose. Its berries range from dark red to pale yellow when ripe and are sacred to Pele, the volcano deity.