Stewardship at the Summit!

Paul and Jane Field

Paul and Jane Field Removing Invasive Himalayan Ginger

NPS Photo / Jessica Ferracane

 

Volunteers Paul and Jane Field lead "Stewardship at the Summit" and you are invited to participate!

Come help out the park and the 'aina (land) by cutting invasive himalayan ginger (Heydechium gardnerianum) on park trails. Loppers and gloves are provided. Participants are encouraged to wear long sleeve shirts, long pants and close toed shoes. Work is often in the shade of the forest with sweet sounds of native honey creepers like 'apapane, 'amakihi and 'ōma'o above to serenade as you work. Water, snacks, rain gear and sun protection are recommended.

This project is open to the public and school groups. The hike is around a 1 mile, moderate round trip into Kīlauea caldera down the Halem'auma'u trail, leaving from Kīlauea Visitor Center. The hike involves walking over rough uneven terrain on a dirt and rock path, with up to a 400' elevation change.

General Public: No reservations required. Check at Kīlauea Visitor Center for more information or contact Andrea Kaawaloa-Okita 808-985-6013 or email Andrea.

School Groups: A special version called Mālama Āina - Stewardship is available for school groups, grades 5 - college, by submitting a Program Request Form.

Please visit the Educational Programs for School Groups page for more information.

Time:
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon

 
2nd Quarter 2015 Dates:
SaturdayMarch 21
Friday March 27
Thursday April 2
Saturday April 11
Friday April 17
FridayApril 24
Friday May 1
Friday May 8
Wednesday May 20
Saturday May 30
Friday June 5
Saturday June 13
Friday June 19










Did You Know?