Bears are active in Grand Teton
Black and grizzly bears are roaming throughout the park--near roads, trails and in backcountry areas. Hikers and backcountry users are advised to travel in groups of three or more, make noise and carry bear spray. Visitors must stay 100 yards from bears. More »
Area closure in the area around Baxter's Pinnacle
An area closure is in effect around Baxter's Pinnacle to protect nesting peregrine falcons. This closure precludes any climbs of Baxter's Pinnacle and usage of the walk-off gully. This closure will be in effect through 8-15-2013. More »
Area Closure in effect in the Elk Ranch area
A temporary area closure is in effect in the Elk Ranch Area to protect wildlife during the denning and young-rearing period. Follow the link for a map of the closed area. More »
Menor’s Ferry Afloat on the Snake River
Contact: Public Affairs Office, 307.730.3431
Grand Teton National Park launched the replica of Menor's Ferry, and the popular vessel is again in operation on the Snake River. The ferry serves as a central feature of the Menor/Noble historic district and is located just north of the Craig Thomas Discovery and Visitor Center. Park ranger naturalists offer free ferry rides daily between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. from Bill Menor's general store to Dornan's on the east bank and back. A ranger-led program also takes place each day at 2 p.m. and culminates in a ferry ride.
Menor's Ferry consists of a platform deck which is set upon two pontoons for flotation. The ferry is tethered to a cable system that spans the river and operates by directing the pontoons toward the opposite riverbank, allowing the power of the current to push the craft across the river channel; the system uses river power-rather than motor power-to push the ferry across the water. This type of river travel existed in ancient times and was widely used throughout the United States.
Menor's Ferry offers a unique way to step back into the past. The ferry played a vital role in providing safe transport for passengers over the swift-flowing Snake River during the late 1800s and early 1900s. Prior to the ferry's existence, the Snake River was essentially impassable from Wilson to Moran-except during low water periods in the fall and winter months. As a man of vision, Bill Menor saw the need for a more convenient access across the Snake River and built and operated his ferry from 1894 until 1918 when he sold it to Maud Noble. Maud operated the ferry until 1927 when its use became obsolete after a steel truss bridge was constructed across the river, allowing for vehicles and foot traffic to cross without the assistance of a boat.
"Passing of the Ferry"
Old landmarks are vanishing;
Many things are changing fast;
Although many things are changing fast, Menor's Ferry was never "moored to rest for last." Park visitors can experience a ride across the Snake River just as early residents of Jackson Hole did in times gone by.
Did You Know?
Did you know that Jenny and Leigh Lakes are named for the fur trapper “Beaver” Dick Leigh and his wife Jenny (not pictured)? Beaver Dick and Jenny assisted the Hayden party that explored the region in 1872. This couple impressed the explorers to the extent that they named the lakes in their honor.