Pet Restrictions in Effect March 15 through Labor Day
Dogs/other pets (except for service animals) are not allowed in the wilderness or on any of Fire Island's federally owned oceanfront beaches from March 15 through Labor Day to help protect threatened and endangered beach-nesting shorebirds. More »
Backcountry Camping Permit and Access Procedures
Reservations for required permits must be obtained through www.recreation.gov. Due to the breach at Old Inlet, access to both east and west wilderness camping zones must now be from Watch Hill or points west, and involve a 1½ to 8 mile hike. More »
Attention Watch Hill Ferry Passengers
Due to channel conditions, delay or cancellation of ferry service between Patchogue and Watch Hill may occur. For updated ferry schedule information, please call 631-475-1665.
Personal Watercraft (PWCs)
The use of personal watercraft (PWCs), commonly referred to as "Jet Skis," are restricted within the boundaries of Fire Island National Seashore. A regulation 36 CFR Ch.1 §7.20(d) published on July 6, 2005, includes the following provisions:
In the Great South Bay from the western boundary of Sunken Forest to Moriches Inlet, PWCs are prohibited within 4,000 feet of Fire Island, with the exception of navigational channels marked by buoys or identified on the NOAA navigational chart (12352) to include access channels to and from Cherry Grove, Fire Island Pines, Water Island, and Davis Park at "flat-wake speed" (maximum 6 mph), and in navigational channels in Narrow and Moriches bays. PWCs may not cross restricted areas to access private piers or waterfront residences.
* PWCs are not allowed in Sailors Haven or Watch Hill marinas or at the Barrett Beach dock.
* PWCs may not be used in the channels to Bellport Beach or Great Gun Beach.
* PWCs may not be used to access any of the small islands within the boundaries of Fire Island National Seashore, regardless of land ownership.
In the Atlantic Ocean, PWCs are prohibited within 1,000 feet of Fire Island.
Personal Watercraft must comply with State and Federal laws, including age restrictions and navigation rules of the road. The State of New York has implemented new requirements that all PWC operators must earn a safety certificate. All PWC users must wear a U. S. Coast Guard approved personal flotation device (PFD) or life jacket. See New York State Boater's Guide, page 59, for further information. Responsible boat operation is enforced by the National Park Service, U. S. Coast Guard and Suffolk County Police Marine Bureau within the waters surrounding Fire Island.
Did You Know?
The use of personal watercraft (PWCs or JetSkis) is restricted within the boundaries of Fire Island National Seashore. While not permitted at National Park Service facilities or near shorelines, PWCs may use the marked channels to access some of the Fire Island communities. More...