THING TO DO

Discover Bristol Bay Fishing History

A wooden boat with the number 23 painted in black on it.
An intact icon of Bristol Bay's historic salmon fishing industry

NPS / T. Tessier

Libby's Number 23 Bristol Bay Double-Ender


There are only 10 museum quality double-enders in existence and one is stationed outside the Port Alsworth Visitor Center. Discover more about this fully restored wooden vessel that served the fishing industry from 1914 until 1951. Learn the remarkable history of Bristol Bay, the world's last great wild salmon fishery that still continues to feed the world.

Details
Entrance fees may apply, see Fees & Passes information.
This exhibit is outside but it is only open during visitor center hours. 
Accessibility Information
The ground surface from the road to the building is fairly flat gravel. Inside the building next to the exhibit there is both flat cement and a wooden planked flooring. A wheelchair is available. Inquire at the visitor center or call ahead at (907) 781-2117.
 

Last updated: July 10, 2017