Preservation Technology & Training Board

Colorful buildings lining the riverbank.

On This Page Navigation

Created by Public Law 102-575 in 1992, the purpose of the Board is to provide leadership, policy advice, and professional oversight to the National Center for Preservation Technology and Training located at Northwestern State University of Louisiana in Natchitoches, Louisiana. A unit of the National Park Service, the Center was created by the 1992 Amendments to the National Historic Preservation Act to coordinate and promote preservation research, distribute information, and provide training about preservation skills and technologies. Other responsibilities of the Board include advising the Secretary on priorities and the allocation of grants among the activities of the Center and submitting an annual report to the President and the Congress.

Current Board Members

Rinita Dalan

Professor of Anthropology and Earth Science
Minnesota State University Moorehead

John Dumsick

Office of Cultural Heritage
Bureau of Overseas Operations
Department of State

Kimball Erdman

Associate Professor, Landscape Architecture
Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design
University of Arkansas

William (Fred) Limp, RPA

Leica Geosystems Chair and University Professor
Department of Geosciences and Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies
University of Arkansas

Frank Matero

Professor of Architecture
University of Pennsylvania

Nancy Odegaard

Conservator, Head of Preservation, Arizona State Museum
Professor, University of Arizona

Jonathan Spodek, FAIA, NCARB

Professor of Architecture
Department of Architecture
Ball State University

Vincas Steponaitis

Secretary of the Faculty
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

David Wessel

CEO of ARG Conservation Services

Designated Federal Officer

Kirk A. Cordell, LEED AP BD+C

Deputy Associate Director, Science, Technology & Training
Executive Director, NCPTT
National Park Service – Cultural Resources, Partnerships, and Science

Emeritus Board Members

Roy Eugene Graham, FAIA, NVARB, Fellow US/ICOMOS

Reinecke-Reeves Distinguished Professor (Retired)
College of Design, Construction, and Planning
University of Florida

Victor Knox

Associate Director for Park Planning, Facilities and Lands
National Park Service

Norman Koonce, FAIA

American Institute of Architects (Retired)

Lucy Lawliss, ASLA

Vice-Chair, PTT
Board Superintendent, Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military Park
National Park Service (Retired)

Frank Preusser, Ph.D.

Frank Preusser and Associates, Inc.

Robert Silman, PE

President Emeritus Robert Silman and Associates, P.C.

Suzanne Louise Turner

Professor Emerita of Landscape Architecture
Louisiana State University

Horace Henry Foxall, Jr

Program Manager
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

James Walter Garrison

State Historic Preservation Officer, Arizona

Last updated: December 16, 2021