History & Culture

The Forge of Innovation

On a chill Spring morning in 1968, amid speeches and farewell addresses, the men and women of Springfield Armory bid each other goodbye as the 'Stars and Stripes' were lowered for the last time. After nearly two centuries of continuous production of rifles and muskets used by America's armed forces in every war in the nation's history, the armory closed its gates and fell silent. Begun as a major arsenal under the authority of General George Washington early in the Revolutionary War, the first national armory began manufacturing muskets in 1794. Within decades, Springfield Armory had perfected pioneering manufacturing methods that were critical to American industrialization. Reopened in 1978 as the Springfield Armory National Historic Site, the original 1840's arsenal houses the world's largest collection of historic American military firearms. Year-round public programs, exhibits, and special events are hosted on the grounds of the National Historic Landmark.

 
A peek at the museum collection

A world renowned collection

Explore our amazing collection of historic firearms.

Men look at the camera.  Machine guns are laid out in front of them.

People

Explore the people of Springfield Armory.

Right side view of trapdoor rifle.

Products

Explore the products of Springfield Armory.

Three story brick building with six story clock tower in front.  American flag waving from tower.

Places

Explore the grounds of Springfield Armory.

Last updated: July 22, 2020

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

Springfield Armory National Historic Site
One Armory Square
Suite 2

Springfield, MA 01105

Phone:

(413) 734-8551

Contact Us