Accessible Rooms, Accessible Sites, Automated Entrance, Automated External Defibrillator (AED), Benches/Seating, Captioned Media, Cellular Signal, Elevator, Fire Extinguisher, Gifts/Souvenirs/Books, Historical/Interpretive Information/Exhibits, Information, Information - Maps Available, Information - Ranger/Staff Member Present, Information Kiosk/Bulletin Board, Low-Vision Access, Parking - Auto, Parking - Bus/RV, Restroom, Restroom - Accessible, Restroom - Family, Scenic View/Photo Spot, Toilet - Flush, Trash/Litter Receptacles, Water - Bottle-Filling Station, Water - Drinking/Potable, Wheelchair Accessible
Designed by noted architect Francis B. Wheaton in the Beaux Arts architectural style, the visitor center (Building# 138), has a classical façade featuring Flemish bond brick walls on a limestone foundation. Construction was completed in 1909 and named Wisser Hall in honor of Brigadier General John P. Wisser an instructor at the Coast Artillery School at Fort Monroe. Following World War II, the visitor center was converted into office space for use by US Army commands headquartered at Fort Monroe. Visitors can see two plaques showing the high-water marks of two significant storm events on the front stairway, the higher being Hurricane Isabel in 2003 and the lower being Chesapeake-Potomac Hurricane in 1933. Inside you’ll find skilled craftsmanship in moldings and ironwork, terrazzo flooring, marble stairs, two-story skylight, and a colonnaded hall.
Last updated: October 6, 2021